Skip to Content

University of Arkansas School of ArchitectureUniversity of Arkansas School of Architecture

120 Vol Walker Hall
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone (479) 575-4945
Fax (479) 575-7099

Architecture faculty

Jeff Shannon

Dean of Architecture

B.Arch., University of Arkansas
M.Arch. in Urban Design, Rice University

Jeff Shannon
Jeff Shannon has devoted most of his career to practicing and teaching architecture in his native Arkansas. He began his career working in the firm of school alumnus and professor Fay Jones, and later worked at firms in Memphis, Houston and Little Rock. In 1977 he cofounded Polk Stanley Shannon in Little Rock, which has since become one of the state’s leading architecture firms. In 1979 Shannon returned to his alma mater to teach architecture. As dean of the school since 2000, he has developed new programs to foster leadership and life skills among students and to enhance diversity within the school. He continues to teach a popular course on the history of urban form.
Shannon has won numerous teaching awards, notably the Master Teaching Award (1993) and Outstanding Teacher Award (1997) from the School of Architecture and the University of Arkansas Teaching Academy Award for Outstanding Teaching in the Category of Creativity (1992). He was inducted into the University of Arkansas Teaching Academy in 1993.
Dean Shannon has published numerous articles in scholarly publications and serves on the boards of the Southeast chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians, the Arkansas State Board of Architects, and the Arkansas State chapter of the American Institute of Architects.