Skip to Content

Fay Jones School of ArchitectureFay Jones School of Architecture

120 Vol Walker Hall
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone (479) 575-4945
Fax (479) 575-7099

Degrees in landscape architecture

The Department of Landscape Architecture offers two degree options:

The Bachelor of Landscape Architecture (BLA) prepares students to practice landscape architecture. This degree requires 157 semester credit hours and normally takes five years, or 10 semesters, to complete. After two years of study, students must submit a portfolio of work for application to continue in the professional program.

The curriculum emphasizes urban design, community development, wetland reclamation, and the design of public memorials, parks, gardens, and other recreational amenities. History and historic landscape preservation are important components of the program. Students who pursue this degree must participate in an intensive, five-week summer study abroad program following their third year.

The degree is accredited by the Landscape Architecture Accreditation Board of the American Society of Landscape Architects and qualifies graduates to take the state professional licensing exam. To practice landscape architecture in Arkansas and 46 other states, practitioners must have a license.

View degree requirements and sample curriculum

Read more details on the Landscape Architecture Fact Sheet.

The Bachelor of Science in Landscape Architectural Studies (LARCBS) is a four-year degree that incorporates coursework from the Fay Jones School of Architecture with liberal arts studies in related fields. This degree could lead to careers in journalism, planning agencies, and non-profit organizations. Graduates also may continue their education in landscape architecture and the allied fields of business, urban design, city planning, and historic preservation.

View degree requirements and sample curriculum