Skip to Content

Fay Jones School of ArchitectureFay Jones School of Architecture

120 Vol Walker Hall
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone (479) 575-4945
Fax (479) 575-7099

Alumni design awards

The design for Arpent: University of Manitoba Campus Master Plan in Winnipeg, Canada, won Maury Mitchell (B.Arch. ’03) an Honor Award in the 2014 Fay Jones Alumni Design Awards, a competition held by the Fay Jones School of Architecture to recognize outstanding work being done by alumni. (Image courtesy Maury Mitchell)


2014 Fay Jones Alumni Design Award Winners

Designs for residential, educational, religious, fitness, medical, cultural, commercial, historic and public urban spaces – even a boardwalk and a playhouse – were among 34 projects vying for recognition in this year’s alumni design awards competition. After careful review, the three-member jury chose five projects for accolades – resulting in one Honor Award, one Merit Award, two Honorable Mentions and one Special Distinction for Preservation.

The alumni design awards were announced and presented April 11 during the school’s annual Honors Recognition Reception and Ceremony at the Arkansas Union on the University of Arkansas campus in Fayetteville.

Maury Mitchell won an Honor Award for Arpent: University of Manitoba Campus Master Plan in Winnipeg, Canada. Mitchell (B.Arch. ’03) is with Janet Rosenberg & Studio in Toronto.

Reese Rowland, Dustin Davis, Mandy Breckenridge and Joe Stanley won a Merit Award for the Hillary Rodham Clinton Children’s Library and Learning Center in Little Rock. Rowland (B.Arch. ’90), Davis (B.Arch. ’00), Breckenridge (B.Arch. ’04) and Stanley (B.Arch. ’69) are with Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects in Little Rock.

Aaron Young won an Honorable Mention for SandRidge Commons in Oklahoma City. Young (B.Arch. ’95) is with Rogers Partners in New York.

Tony Patterson won an Honorable Mention for American Card Services in Chesterfield, Mo. Patterson (B.Arch. ’00) practices in St. Louis, Mo.

Reese Rowland, Steve Kinzler, John Dupree, Russell Worley and Megan Balmer were recognized with Special Distinction for Preservation for the Fort Smith Regional Art Museum in Fort Smith. Rowland (B.Arch. ’90), Kinzler (B.Arch. ’73), Worley (B.Arch. ’09) and Balmer (BID ’10) are with Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects in Little Rock. Dupree (B.Arch. ’69) is formerly with the firm.

Jury members for the awards competition were all faculty members of the Fay Jones School: Kim Furlong, assistant professor of interior design; Marc Manack, assistant professor of architecture; and Carl Smith, associate professor of landscape architecture.

(Click here to read more about these projects and to see jury comments. Click here to view PDFs of the winning projects and all other entries.)


Got good work? We want to see it:

Fay Jones Alumni Design Award Submission Guidelines

Learn more about the 2013 winners:

Download pdf on Eco Modern Flats

Download pdf on Hillstone

Download pdf on Round Mountain House

Download pdf on Sartorial Tectonics

Learn more about the 2012 winners:

Download pdf on Laketown Residence

Download pdf on Vetro 1925

Download pdf on The Morgan Library & Museum

Download pdf on Hoy + Stark Architects Studio Office

Download pdf on HUeC (Hudson Unenclosed Cabana and Landscape)

Learn more about the 2011 winners:

Download pdf on Arkansas Studies Institute

Download pdf on Bakhita Ridge

Download pdf on RomWoods

Download pdf on Historic Washington County Courthouse

Learn more about the 2010 winners:

Download pdf on Heifer International Education Center

Download pdf on Cool Stuff

Download pdf on The Bowtie

Download pdf on Lewis-Markell Residence

Learn more about the 2008 winners:

Download pdf on Heifer International Headquarters

Download pdf on Urban Outfitters Headquarters

Past Alumni Design Award winners:

2013   Chris M. Baribeau (B.Arch. ’03)
           John H. Jones (B.Arch. ’79)
           Timothy W. Maddox (B.Arch. ’02)
           Andrew Saunders (B.Arch. ’98)

2012   John W. Allegretti (B.Arch. ’71)
           Timothy Maddox (B.Arch. ’02)
           Richard Renfro (B.Arch. ’79)
           Patrick E. Hoy (B.Arch. ’78)
           Robert Kerr (B.Arch. ’92)

2011   Reese Rowland (B.Arch. ’90)
           Timothy Maddox (B.Arch. ’02)
           John Dupree (B.Arch. ’69)

2010   Reese Rowland (B.Arch. ’90)
           Greg Belew (B.Arch. ’82)
           Timothy Maddox (B.Arch. ’02)
           John H. Jones (B.Arch. ’79)

2008   Reese Rowland (B.Arch. ’90)
           Jeffrey Scherer (B.Arch. ’71)                                   

2006   Wesley Walls (B.Arch. ’92)

2003   Heather Salisbury (B.Arch. ’93)

2002   Michael Grogan (B.Arch. ’95)